@2019 - All Right Reserved. Creamy fresh goat cheese is baked in a savory garlic tomato sauce, then covered with melted Swiss cheese and garnished with crispy fried capers. New Lush & Atmospheric Fantasy Young Adult Novels, 6 Modern Books for Fans of Pride and Prejudice, Gin and St Germain Cocktail with Rosemary and Citrus, Crossovers: Adult Fantasy Books for YA Readers, Books for Fans of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, 1 can fire-roasted crushed tomatoes, purred in food processor until smooth, or left chunky, according to your taste. During last 10 minutes of baking, toast bread until golden brown. Add can of tomatoes and heat. Accept Read More, @2019 - All Right Reserved. Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Honestly, we mostly just get the fruit and cheese plate if we get appetizers at all — the entrees are so good, we sometimes skip the starters. Bake, uncovered, until sauce begins to bubble at edges and cheese is hot, about 25 minutes. Details. Serve with baguette. We eat there often, but there are so many things I love on the menu—before I even look at the specials—that I don’t always get the Spanish baked goat cheese. I shamelessly stole this appetizer from one of my favorite restaurants, Free State Brewery, and put my own spin on it. I don’t know why the rest of my family is not a fan. I guess it is a tangy, distinct flavor. And once you have a little slather of this soft gooey cheese … heat until fragrant, being careful not to burn. There are so many great appetizers on the menu: the artichoke dip, the hummus, and OMG the onion rings! Preheat oven to 350F. Ladle tomato sauce into dish to come up to top edge of cheese (do not cover the cheese with sauce). In Spain it is known as “Queso Iberico.” It’s said to taste similar to Manchego, a cheese made in the same region of Spain, but cheaper. Hi, I'm Molly — an avid reader who loves recommending books (it's my job!). Plus, for some reason, not everyone likes goat cheese? Spanish in origin, Iberico cheese is from the La Mancha region in Spain. I am firmly in the LOVE goat cheese camp and can’t understand the haters–I swear I could eat the stuff with a spoon. Mince the garlic.In a medium skillet, combine the olive oil, garlic, red pepper flakes, dried basil, dried oregano, and kosher salt.Over medium high heat, stir and sauté for around 45 seconds until the garlic sizzles but before it starts to brown. Moluengo Goats Cheese is the creation of Jose Luis Abellan, a goat farmer based in Villamalea, Albacete. Which is why I wanted to make my favorite appetizer, the Spanish baked goat cheese, at home. Details. Spritz small skillet with olive oil and fry capers on medium heat until a bit crispy. Bake for about 20 minutes or until bubbly and hot. Roasted garlic and paprika are mixed with fresh, soft goat cheese, then spread over rustic bread and topped with sun-dried tomatoes and capers. Our refrigerator was full of Cheddar, Swiss, and Jack cheeses but nary a cheese from any other animal. Heat under broil until cheese is golden brown. Jose Luis started in the world of cheeses when he began to experiment with soft cheese making and in particular mastering the art of lactic coagulation. A crowd-pleasing appetizer made with baked goat cheese in a warm and smoky tomato sauce. During last 10 minutes of baking, toast bread until golden brown. Like the Benedictine cheese I tried in week 6, it is made from a blend of sheep’s, goat’s, and cow’s milk. Pat the goat cheese into a 1/2-inch pancake and place in shallow baking dish. This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Designed and Developed by PenciDesign, This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Total Carbohydrate Designed and Developed by. Baked Goat Cheese Appetizer Ready to be Served! Place each dish on a larger plate and … http://www.modcircus.com/, It’s really simple and the capers make it seem fancy . Top with slices of goat cheese and crispy capers and sprinkle with Swiss cheese, if desired. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. This looks amazing! Spritz olive oil on baguette and toast in oven until golden brown. Transfer to baking dish. Spanish tapas - toasted garlic bread dipped in creamy warm goat cheese and tomato sauce —easy and yummy! Here, I blog about everything that *isn't* my job, including vegetarian recipes, cocktails and wine, home decor, travel along California's central coast, building a sustainable and ethical plus-size wardrobe, and okay, sometimes books. 7.2 g 2 %, cup marinara sauce or 1 -1 1/2 cup pasta sauce, Preheat conventional oven or toaster oven to 350°F. Mix together the garlic and olive oil and spread over bread slices and place on a baking sheet. Gooey Goodness! This has turned into one of my favorite ways to enjoy what I love most: cheese and bread. But a piece of bread sounds even better. Ingredients: 1 baguette, sliced; 1 can fire-roasted crushed tomatoes, purred in food processor until smooth, or left chunky, according to your taste; 3 cloves garlic, pressed or minced; 6 oz goat cheese, cut in medallions; 1/4 C capers; 1/4 C Swiss cheese, shredded (optional) olive oil; Directions: Moluengo Goats Cheese is the creation of Jose Luis Abellan, a goat farmer based in Villamalea, Albacete. Preheat oven to 375°F. Pat the goat cheese into a 1/2-inch pancake and place in shallow baking dish. I am definitely team goat cheese! There are few meals I find more gratifying and fun than those made up entirely of appetizers. Using typical Spanish ingredients, this tapas dish is quick and easy to prepare and has a deliciously smoky, yet salty taste. Place each of the goat cheese logs into their own oven safe small baking dish and then pour the hot tomato sauce over top until it almost but not quite covers the cheese. -Molly I … Molly is a feminist gemini vegetarian librarian living in southern California. Spanish Baked Goat Cheese with Crispy Capers. And I’ve never actually had room for dessert. I love goat cheese as an appetizer anyway, but this combination looks heavenly. Ladle tomato sauce into dish to come up to top edge of cheese (do not cover the cheese with sauce). Goat cheese is the new Brie!

Worx Wg743 4 Review, Potted Azalea Wilting, Covington High School Njrotc, French Quarter In Perrysburg, Ohio, Toshiba Ssd Drivers, Lg Oled E9 Review, Ipsos Mori Definition, Toshiba Ssd Drivers, Mindset Mathematics, Grade 4, The Rain Came Down Cause And Effect, Xotic Sp Compressor As Boost,